Design 1
menu bar 2 Milltek Sport VW

2018   ///

Volkswagen_5 Start_3 (2) Like us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter follow-us-on-instagram Design 1


By Andrea Hurcombe, Aug 16 2018 07:29PM

Whilst we are waiting for the next two rounds of Milltek Sport Volkswagen Cup at Croft Circuit on 8/9 September, it’s a good time to reflect on the season so far. With only two race weekends to go, it’s all to play for to find the overall Championship Winner.

The number 8 is the magic number so far in 2018.

8 different drivers have been on the top step of the podium as race winners:

Dennis Strandberg, Toby Davis, Martin Depper, Simon Walton, Chris Panayiotou, Ruaridh Clark, Tom Walker, Matthew Wilson.

8 different drivers have been in Pole Position:

Dennis Strandberg, Tom Walker, Jamie Bond, Mark Wakefield, Simon Walton, Matthew Wilson, Ruaridh Clark, Josh Coggan.

8 different drivers have won the new Hankook Trophy:

Matthew Wilson, Ruaridh Clark, Mark Wakefield, Tim Docker, Jessica Hawkins, Josh Coggan, Callum Jenkins, Russell Joyce.

As things stand Team-HARD driver Jamie Bond is now leading the Championship, 24 points ahead of JWB Motorsport’s Matthew Wilson. Another Team-HARD driver, Toby Davis and Ruaridh Clark also with JWB Motorsport share 3rd place. However, it’s still mathematically possible for a number of other drivers to challenge for the winner’s trophy!

Mark Steel has a commanding lead over Simon Tomlinson in VAG Trophy, but Simon is eager to reclaim the lead and, ultimately, the title.

We have seen some exciting close wheel to wheel racing so far this year and expect that to continue in the last four rounds. Watch this space to see which of the drivers will be taking the Championship honours.

Add a comment
* Required