Design 1
menu bar 2 Milltek Sport VW

2018   ///

Volkswagen_5 Start_3 (2) Like us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter follow-us-on-instagram Design 1


By Andrea Hurcombe, Jun 17 2018 11:15AM

The early pace was set by Ruaridh Clark with Chris Panayiotou in 2nd place.

Matthew Evans was running in 19th place as he ended up in the gravel at the exit of Clearways. Double yellow flags were waved in order to snatch recover the car.

Simon Walton set the pole time of 52.023 with Panayiotou in 2nd with a time of 52.185

With 11 minutes to go, Ethan Hammerton set a 5th quickest time. The commentators believe that Hammerton is a name to look out for as he has a performed well in other championships prior to winning the Team HARD. Scholarship, with the prize being a season-long drive in VW Cup.

Panayiotou put in another flying lap time of 52.003 with S Walton only 6 thousandths of a seconds behind, with Jamie Bond in 3rd.

With 9 minutes to go Walton remained on pole with Hammerton 2nd and Panayiotou in 3rd. Dennis Strandberg, now driving for Team HARD. set a time of 52.469 in 7th place.

With 6 minutes to go, Clark again topped the timing sheet with a time of 51.726, the top 15 being within 1 second of each other.

Toby Davis' car was reported by a spectator to have a 'metal on metal’, grinding sound when changing gear as he entered the pit lane to be inspected. Davis was able to re-join the qualifying session but was only able to qualify in 18th place.

With just under 2 minutes of the session to go Bond went off at Druids, getting beached in the gravel. This bought out the red flags and ended the qualifying session.

The session ended with Ruaridh Clark (JWB Motorsport) on pole, Chris Panayiotou (Maximum Motorsport) in 2nd and Simon Walton (Slidesports) in 3rd.

Add a comment
* Required