Turner Takes First Blood in Silverstone Qualifying

It would be Olly Turner who took pole position in the first Volkswagen Racing Cup qualifying of the year. The JM Racing team has started their 2021 as they did in 2020, leading the front row and will be hoping that like at Oulton Park, they can convert it to race victory later today.

For the first time, the VW Cup will be racing on the Silverstone International layout, having last year used the National Pits. Once again, they will share the grid with the Dunlop Touring Car Trophy / TCR UK, ensuring competitive racing throughout.

As the new era dawned on the championship, it was Jack Depper who took the early advantage. Remaining virtually unchallenged throughout the session, the Tom Walker Memorial Trophy winner came into the season as the title favourite, the only driver in a VW Scirocco.

As the session drew on, Depper dropped below 1min 12 mark, the first driver to do so. It would instead take a last lap dash from Olly Turner, setting a 1:11.778, to depose the Maximum Motorsport driver. By this point, Depper had already used the best of his tyres and couldn’t respond, giving first blood to the former Fiesta Junior champion.

Championship veteran Russell Joyce returned in his stunning Joyce Design liveried Power Maxed Racing machine. The VW Golf remained competitive throughout, dropping only a second a half to the polesitter by sessions end, having had the best of Turner for the early laps.

Joyce’s teammate Chris Wallis settled in on debut and will line up fifth as he gets to speed with the championship. Splitting them will be Jeff Alden. The 52-year-old has again returned with the Maximum Motorsport outfit sponsored by Matrix, and after his podium at Silverstone last year, will be hoping to go one better this weekend.

The action gets underway with two 25-minute races at 13.20 and the second at 15.30. Both will be live streamed on Facebook:


Sunday’s meeting is administered by the BARC and utilises Silverstone’s 1.851-mile International circuit configuration.

For further championship details visit: